Golden Miles of History

The Bridge River Hydro System

The Bridge River is approximately 120 km long and flows southeast from the snow fields of Monmouth Mountain to connect with the Fraser River near Lillooet.

Hydro-electric development of the Bridge River system began in 1927 and was completed in 1960. The Bridge River Hydro System consists of three reservoirs, three dams and four generating stations. When constructed, BC Hydro engineers designed the system to use the water three times before releasing it to the Fraser River.

Waters from the Downton Reservoir initially pass through the LaJoie Dam and powerhouse before entering the Carpenter Reservoir. From there, water is diverted through tunnels and penstocks from Carpenter Reservoir to the two powerhouses on Seton Lake Reservoir. Finally, the water passes through the Seton powerhouse before joining the Fraser River.