Inter-Community Business Licence Bylaw

December 13, 2021
The District of Lillooet has newly joined the Thompson-Nicola ICBL program (as of January 1, 2022). Six municipalities in the region have entered into a program to permit certain kinds of businesses the option to upgrade to the ICBL, allowing eligible businesses to work in all participating communities, without needing to purchase a business licence in each individual municipality, they are:
1.       District of Barriere
2.       Village of Chase
3.       City of Kamloops
4.       District of Logan Lake
5.       City of Merritt
6.       Tk’emlúps te Secwépemc
7.       District of Lillooet
Business owners must have a basic licence in the municipality in which they are located and can request the inter-community add-on for an additional $75 (annually).

Who is eligible for an Inter-Community Business Licence?
Eligibility is limited to any business that performs a service in more than one of the participating municipalities and who provides the service by moving from client to client, rather than having a client come to a fixed place of business. This includes, but is not limited to; trades, plumbers, electricians, cleaning services, pest control or other similar businesses (e.g., mobile mechanic, photographer, etc.).

Businesses in Lillooet received information about the new program as part of the 2022 business licence renewal mail out.

Additional information can be found in our Information Release, our FAQ document, and on the District of Lillooet website

Citizens are welcome to contact the District to learn more about this program.